Some Favorite Atypical Christmas Songs

I always had mixed feelings about Christmas songs.  Growing up I heard them constantly for the whole month of December.  Some I liked better than others, but many have grown tiresome all these years.  That said, there always were some more unusual ones that I liked, so I figured I would share some of these.

1.  White Whine in The Sun by Tim Minchin.  This is the Christmas song that these days I can most relate to, it comes from the point of view of an Atheist living in Australia.  Of all the versions available, I find this live version to be my favorite.  I also had the pleasure of seeing performed live a couple years ago.

2.  Little Drummer Boy/Peace on Earth by Bing Crosby and David Bowie.  This one has been getting more attention in recent years and even some radio play.  I don’t mind, because the total surrealism of this pairing totally trips me out.  Also note this was Bing Crosby’s last public performance.

The awkwardness and assumed one-ups-manship of this song is parodied here:

It also spawned this parody by Stephen Colbert and Willy Nelson.

3.  Peace at Least by Rotary Connection.  In this sixties R&B number Minnie Ripperton and company sing about Santa getting stoned out of his mind… on Mistletoe.

When I shared this one with a friend, he topped it with this number by Arlo Guthrie, which accuses Santa of being a drug addict and a communist:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQbyT0cUMNc

4.  Merry Christmas (I don’t Want to Fight Tonight) by the Ramones.   Ok, now for something a little more rocking.

5.  A Christmas Song by Jethro Tull.  Next we have something of a Christmas guilt trip by Ian Anderson and the guys Jethro Tull.  I never really understood what it means, but I take it as a call to be more appreciative.

6.  The Christmas Song by The Raveonettes.  This is a nice little rocker.

7.  Must be Santa by Bob Dylan.  This is a track from the ever controversial Bob Dylan album Christmas in the Heart.  What can I say?  It was a charity album and the man’s legacy in the history of American music was well sealed by this time.

8.  An Atheist Christmas Carol by Vienna Teng.  A pretty little piece.  Not so blatantly Christmas or atheism oriented as the title suggest, and a bit soft edged, but still nice.

Ok, that’s more than enough of these.  Enjoy.

 

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

